Main ferry destinations - countries' description

Country Short description

The Kingdom of Denmark (Danish: Kongeriget Danmark) is the located north of Germany (its only land neighbour), southwest of Sweden, and south of Norway, it is in Scandinavia in northern Europe, but not on the Scandinavian Peninsula.


The Republic of Finland (Finnish: Suomi, Suomen tasavalta, Swedish: Republiken Finland), is one of the Nordic countries. Situated in Northern Europe, it shares land borders with Sweden to the west, Russia to the east and Norway to the north while Estonia lies to its south. Book a ferry crossing to Finland from Germany, Sweden or Baltic countries with Ferry Travels.


France, officially the French Republic (French: République française), is a country whose metropolitan territory is located in Western Europe and which also comprises various overseas islands and territories located in other continents.


Officially the Federal Republic of Germany (German: Bundesrepublik Deutschland), is a country in Central Europe, bordered to the north by the North Sea, Denmark, and the Baltic Sea, to the east by Poland and the Czech Republic, to the south by Austria and Switzerland, and to the west by France, Luxembourg, Belgium and the Netherlands.


Greece (Greek: Ελλάδα), officially the Hellenic Republic, is a country in south-eastern Europe, situated on the southern end of the Balkan peninsula which is bordered by Bulgaria, the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia and Albania to the north and by Turkey to the east.


The Netherlands (Dutch: Nederland) is the European part of the Kingdom of the Netherlands (Dutch: Koninkrijk der Nederlanden), consists of the Netherlands, the Netherlands Antilles, and Aruba; is a constitutional monarchy, located in northwestern Europe, bordered by the North Sea to the north and west, Belgium to the south, and Germany to the east.


Ireland is the third largest island in Europe, that lies in between the Atlantic Ocean and the Irish Sea. Ireland's total area measurement is 84,412 km squared plus a total coastline distance of 3,172 km.


The Italian Republic (Italian: Repubblica Italiana) or Italy (Italia), is a country located in Southern Europe, that comprises the Po River valley, the Italian Peninsula and the two largest islands in the Mediterranean Sea, Sicily and Sardinia. It is also called by Italians lo Stivale ("the Boot,") or la Penisola.


Norway is a Nordic country on the western portion of the Scandinavian Peninsula, located in Europe, and bordering Sweden, Finland and Russia. Norway has a very elongated shape; the country's extensive coastline along the North Atlantic Ocean is home to its famous fjords. The Kingdom of Norway also includes the Arctic island territories of Svalbard and Jan Mayen.


Sardinia (Sardegna in Italian, Sardigna or Sardinna in the Sardinian language), is the second largest island in the Mediterranean Sea, after Sicily which is the largest, located between Italy, Spain and Tunisia, south of Corsica. Now an Italian region with a special autonomous statute, Sardinia's history is very ancient. In 1979 human remains were found that were dated to 150,000 BC.